The Chakra System


What is a Chakra?

The Chakras are an ancient, symbolic and esoteric model of life energy in the body. The Chakras are differentiated by location on the body, with their own frequency of vibration. The word Chakra derives from the word “cakra” meaning wheel or turning and in yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. All living things are made up of life force energy, often referred to as Prana or Ki. The universal life force circulates through us and the chakras are the storehouses and transmitters of the universal energy. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. The chakras are the conduits through which the universal energy flows. To visualise a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive. The ease with which energy can flow back and forth between you and the universe, is in direct correlation to the total health and well-being that you experience.

Your Seven Main Chakras

Each of the seven main chakras contains bundles of nerves and major organs as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being; these swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body. Since everything is moving, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow.

First Chakra - Red

First Chakra: the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs.. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless. Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. Honors the Earth

Key Issues: Sexuality, Fear, Insecurity, Female relationships (especially Mother)

Keyword: Instinct

Second Chakra - Orange

Second Chakra: the chakra of creativity and sexuality center. Represents our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. Honors the Creative.

Key Issues: Guilt, Money, Sex, Creativity, Male relationships (especially Father)

Keyword: Emotions

Third Chakra - Yellow

Third Chakra: this chakra is our source of personal power. Represents our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives. Honors the Life Force.

Key issues: Power, Fear, Anxiety, Introversion, Inner Child issues

Keyword: Energy

Fourth Chakra - Green

Fourth Chakra: this Chakra is the bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. Represents our ability to love. It is our source of love and connection. Honors the Heart.

Key Issues: Passion, Rejection

Keywords: Love

Fifth Chakra - Blue

Fifth Chakra: this Chakra is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. Represents our ability to communicate. Honors Communication.

Key Issues: Self expression, communication, free-will

Keyword: Truth

Sixth Chakra - Indigo

Sixth Chakra: this Chakra is our center of intuition, imagination & wisdom. Represents our ability to focus on and see the big picture. Honors the Psychic.

Key Issues: Trusting inner guidance

Keyword: Intuition

Seventh Chakra - Violet

Seventh Chakra: this is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. Represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. Honors Spiritual Connectedness.

Key Issues: Perceptions of unity or separation

Keyword: Connection

This is but a brief introduction; the Chakra System is detailed and complex whilst having a simplicity in its function and functionality. Knowing how the Chakras work and how they impact us physically, emotionally and behaviourally is an important part of overall health and wellbeing.

I have worked with the Chakra System for some years now and developed the Chakra Fitness Programme because I believe it is so important to be Chakra Aware and Chakra Fit. Find out more about the Chakra Fitness Program 

Benefits of Balancing Your Chakras


feel a sense of calm and peace with less anxiety.


feel calmer and more secure.


feel at ease with your body and recognise its signals.

chakras healing woman

Courses and Workshops

Learn More